Cyclic job issue

Post Reply
User avatar
Argss
Nouveau
Nouveau
Posts: 3
Joined: 25 Jan 2013 12:00

Cyclic job issue

Post by Argss » 25 Jan 2013 9:14

I have a cyclic job that checks the availability of my database every 30 mins.
My requirement is once the jobs fails (means the DB is not avaialble) It should not check the DB again till it comes up. ( here I am tryin to avoid the redundent alerts). Once the DB comes up then it should resume its monitoring. Is there a workaround possible?

User avatar
mauriziog
Nouveau
Nouveau
Posts: 807
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 12:00
Location: Varese - Italy
Contact:

Post by mauriziog » 25 Jan 2013 12:09

You can:

a1. put a condition on the first ciclic job that there is always
when the jobs fails:
+ do condition - delete the in condition of the job
+ do force a second ciclic job that check the availability (like a ping).
a2. when the second see that the db is available: stop this second cyclic job and do condition + to start again the second job

This if the fail of the first job is infrequent.
If the notok is frequent: define and schedule the two jobs and play only with add and delete condition on all two jobs.

Hope that this can help you, regards

User avatar
Argss
Nouveau
Nouveau
Posts: 3
Joined: 25 Jan 2013 12:00

Post by Argss » 25 Jan 2013 1:56

Hi,

There are not 2 jobs.. there is only one job.. and I dont want to create any additional job.

Request you to please let me know he workaround only if one job exists.

User avatar
gglau
Nouveau
Nouveau
Posts: 317
Joined: 13 Jun 2007 12:00

Post by gglau » 26 Jan 2013 12:05

Upgrade to V8 which allows you to say

ON number of failures = 1 DO shout

Prior to V8, you have to achieve this with some form of coding to remember job's previous state.

User avatar
bujji
Nouveau
Nouveau
Posts: 2
Joined: 31 Jan 2013 12:00

Post by bujji » 13 Feb 2013 3:14

yes Set up a manual Condition with the ODATE STAT. Set it as incondition for that job . The job will run only when the Condition is avilable and when the runtime criteria is satisfied. Sytarted tasks will post the condition Every half an hour if is avilable.

User avatar
adam6
Nouveau
Nouveau
Posts: 1
Joined: 13 Feb 2013 12:00

Post by adam6 » 13 Feb 2013 10:31

If you are jobless in USA than I have a good option for you. This is the list of jobs, you can find according to you.
most popular jobs    

User avatar
devi09
Nouveau
Nouveau
Posts: 4
Joined: 15 Feb 2011 12:00

Add retry logic on the job

Post by devi09 » 13 Feb 2013 2:53

Please add the retry logic to the cyclic job through steps tab, so that the job will monitor the DB for every schedule time and will monitor as usual when it is online.

Thanks,
Devendra.

Post Reply