SAS batch job hangs up when scheduled from CONTROL_M

Several scripts
sasuser
Nouveau
Nouveau

SAS batch job hangs up when scheduled from CONTROL_M

Post by sasuser » 23 Jan 2009 10:27

hi all,

I am totally new to CONTROL_M; I have a set of DOS batch jobs (each a separate .bat file); Each batch file invokes several programs written in SAS language;

When these batch scripts are executed directly, everything works as expected;

However when scheduled using CONTROL_M , one of the batch jobs runs for some time , and then hangs up;

I have been to find out where it stopped...the point where it stops, the SAS code tries to invoke few DOS commands..first DOS command is simple CD command ..and then a DOS utility program is run ..this program uncompresses files (GZIP.exe); If this step is successful I expect to see uncompressed files, but that does not happen;

Looks to me that for some reason, when jobs are launched from CONTROL_M DOS commands are failing somehow ..

please give me suggestions, ideas what could be wrong here, or if I am missing?

thanks in advance;
Shankar

philmalmaison
Nouveau
Nouveau

Post by philmalmaison » 28 Jan 2009 11:20

hags up "yellow ? executing status ?"
use the right _exit from the controlm agent...
be sure that return code is send back by the script to the agent

regards
philmalmaison

th_alejandro
Nouveau
Nouveau

re-engineering

Post by th_alejandro » 24 Apr 2009 6:14

Hi, this is the problem with new users that use Control-M to sheduling old bat file o script not designed for Control-M or script with pour functionality. I have to re-write all script in my system in migration to Control-M, because jobs and functionality area diferents. My recomendation : re-engineering...., separate scripts un various scripts depending in his funitionality and join with conditions to perform the same.

fyot
Nouveau
Nouveau

Post by fyot » 25 Apr 2009 10:15

Hi

Don't forget, you must consider Control-M as a black box, launching what you need.