Please, help with ControlM

Everything about Control-M Enterprise Manager Server installation or setup.
Dilbert
Nouveau
Nouveau

Please, help with ControlM

Post by Dilbert » 10 Jan 2007 8:57

Hello all!

I'm new in ControlM products, and I have a small problem which I don't know how to solve.
I have a WinXP machine with VMWare server with virtual Vin2003 Server where ControlM products are installed, 6.2.0.1. version.
Everything works fine, I have small virtual network, file sharing, both computers can access each other.
I created all needed components for the ControlM, and everything works fine on my local (virtual) environment under Win2003 Server.

But now I have tried to create a new ControlM gateway component to connect on my physical machine with WinXP.
Component is created, icon of this component is green, status is active, but component is always "Disconnected".
I enabled the same users on both machines, ControlM agent from WinXP can ping ControlM Server on Win2003, but ControlM server cannot connect to ControlM agent. Firewall is off. Maybe I must install agent from the same user in XP as the user in Win2003? Agent is installed from my local account with administrator privileges.

What I'm doing wrong? Can anybody please tell me tips&tricks how to make connection between ControlM server and agent on my environment? Any help will be gratefully appreciated.

Thanks!

fyot
Nouveau
Nouveau

Post by fyot » 10 Jan 2007 9:42

Hi,

Be careful, Gateway concerns only the link between a Control-M Server and Control-EM Server. Gateway is used in jobs definition to know which Control-M server will be responsible to manage them.

A Control-M Agent isn't normally supported under Windows XP.
You can install and use an agent after disabled XP Firewall.

After that you need to be sure Control-M Server could communicate with your agent. To be sure you need to verify TCP ports used between them.