It is currently 22 Sep 2018 3:14


Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 26 Aug 2011 7:48 
Offline
Nouveau
Nouveau
User avatar

Joined: 10 Jun 2011 12:00
Posts: 18
Location: pune
what is difference between quantitative resouce and control resource ?
please explain with eamples ?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 26 Aug 2011 3:52 
Offline
Nouveau
Nouveau
User avatar

Joined: 06 Jul 2010 12:00
Posts: 16
Location: Chennai
Well, lets just put it this way.
You are working in a firm comprising 5 people. The basic resource you would need to work in that firm is a computer. Imaginet there are only 4 computers and 5 people who need them. Each person will be told that you need atleast one computer to work. Now, who ever reaches first to work will take a PC each and start their work, the one to come last will have to wait for the resource(computer) to be freed by one of the persons to start his work.
This is exactly what a Quantitative resource means.
Here the firm is ControlM
People are the jobs
Computer is the Quantitative resource name
and the number of computers is the max value you define in the Control-M EM
(you will have to define the max number of that resource available in Tools>Quantitative Resource)

Now Control Resource:

Control Resoruce are of 2 types, Shared and Exclusive
If you wish to make 2 jobs, JobA and JobB mutually exclusive (if you do not want the 2 jobs to run simultaneously)
In the Control Resource tab of both the jobs, give a resource name , say THARUN (the name can be anything , it just have to be unique among those jobs) and mark is as Exclusive ('X')

This jobs will not run simultaneously

Marking a job exclusive makes the controlm job selfish, it will have an attitude that i am an exclusive person so i will not run if any other jobs with the same resource name is running or will not allow any other job with the same resource name to run if i am running.
Marking it shared make the job a sharing , caring person :P.

EG: 3 jobs, JOBA, JOBB, JOBC
If you do not want JOBA to run if any other job is running, but JOBB and JOBC can simultaneously
you would have to give a resource value , say THARUN in all the 3 jobs, but mark it exclusive for JOBA , and leave it as shared for JOBB and JOBC.

Hope you didn't get confused :P

_________________
Thanks!Winsome


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 29 Aug 2011 7:56 
Offline
Nouveau
Nouveau
User avatar

Joined: 10 Jun 2011 12:00
Posts: 18
Location: pune
Thanks for ur reply


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC+02:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited
The site created by Franck YOT. Images, logo, content and trademarks about Control-M products are property of BMC Software.
All the comments are property of their posters. Images, logo, content and design are © copyright by Scheduler-Usage.com. All Rights Reserved